A Magnet Hospital

A Magnet Hospital

The Magnet Recognition Program® was developed by the American Nurses Credentialing Center to recognize healthcare organizations that provide the very best in nursing care and uphold the tradition within nursing of professional nursing practice. The program also provides a vehicle for disseminating successful practices and strategies among nursing systems.

The Magnet Recognition Program is based on quality indicators and standards of nursing practice as defined in the American Nurses Association’s Scope and Standards for Nurse Administrators (2003). The Magnet designation process includes the appraisal of both qualitative and quantitative factors in nursing.

Recognizing quality patient care and nursing excellence, the Magnet Recognition Program provides consumers with the ultimate benchmark to measure the quality of care that they can expect to receive. As a natural outcome of this, the program elevates the reputation and standards of the nursing profession.

On September 10, 2004, Saratoga Hospital became the first hospital in the Capital Region to achieve Magnet Hospital status, at that time joining more than 100 organizations in receiving Magnet status that year. Today, there are more than 372 Magnet hospitals in 45 states, including 17 in New York State and two in the Capital Region.

There are also Magnet hospitals in New Zealand, Australia, and Lebanon. Organizations must reapply every four years to maintain their Magnet status.

See what our nurses have to say about our Magnet culture.

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons